Camping

Every summer, my family (as many as can arrange the time off) and I head to the Beartooth Mountains for a couple of weeks of camping. To be honest, we’ll try to arrange several such trips over the course of the summer. It’s a time for us to recharge and to forget, for a while, at least, all the petty nonsense that makes up our day-to-day lives in town. I realize that making a living and paying bills may not be considered petty to everyone, but really, look at what I just said. Making a living and paying bills. When all is said and done, that stuff is petty because it’s not what’s really important. The really important stuff is making connections with your friends and family, getting back in touch with the natural world, learning how to just be. We spend so much time on our computers and our phones that we forget that there’s a whole world out there just waiting to be explored and experienced. When we leave this world, no one is going to remember much about what we did for a living or whether we got all of our bills paid. They’ll remember things like camping trips with crazy wind storms that make you feel like you’re going to be blown away to Oz; things like cooking a giant brown trout over a campfire, and the fish is so big it actually hangs over both sides of the fire grate; things like hiking up the side of a mountain on an unnamed trail in search of a waterfall, and then, once it’s found, never wanting to leave because it’s like walking into another world where no other humans have ever been. These are the things that memories, that lives, are made of.

As you can tell, I like camping. A lot. This year’s trip did nothing to change that opinion. 🙂 A good friend of ours, along with his son and niece, were able to join us for a few days, which was wonderful. For the most part, the weather was good, though we did have a few days of high winds (the crazy wind storms I mentioned before), and a couple of days when it rained 95% of the time. One of those days just happened to be the day we were supposed to be packing up our camp, so naturally a lot of things got put away damp, and now they’ll have to be dried out here so they’re not all mildewed and gross. We got to take a new friend on the trail to the waterfall, and this year I saw something new there. I saw a couple of small black birds that appeared to be fishing (though at the time, I thought they might have been swimming) and taking food back to a nest at the edge of the waterfall. I attempted to get some photos of the birds, but the silly things just wouldn’t sit still long enough! 🙂

We’re hoping to go on another camping trip next month, possibly to the same campground, though my husband has a couple of other places in mind that he’d like to explore. Sounds great to me! I don’t get to do as much traveling as I would like, but I live in a big state, and there is a lot of it that I haven’t seen yet. I look forward to changing that. For now, though, I have to get back to the mundane business of working so that I can afford to walk away from everything for a while. Have a great week, everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

